Select Page

2018 is almost here & we are SO excited because what a year we have ahead.

Here are some of our spring 2018 titles!

JANUARY

Everless – Sara Holland (4th Jan 2018)

Everless has got everything you’d want in a fantasy novel: danger, love, magic, and a totally unique world.

In the world of Everless, alchemists have discovered a way to extract hours, days and years from blood and bind them to iron coins – time is now currency, with the rich living for centuries and the poor bleeding themselves dry.

Caraval author Stephanie Garber has called it ‘an intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology’ and we couldn’t agree more.

Can you tell we’re pretty excited* about this book? Everless is out now.

*Really, really excited

Lucky Girl – Amanda Maciel (4th Jan 2018)

This one is a late drop-in to our list for January, and not one to be missed. Lucky Girl is an unflinching exploration of beauty, self-worth, reputation and sexual assault, from the author of the acclaimed Tease. It is an eBook exclusive which is out now, and you can nab yourself a copy for just £1.99.

Summoner: The Battlemage – Taran Matharu (11th Jan 2018)

This is THE epic conclusion to the fantasy trilogy described as ‘Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings meets Pokemon’ – and what a book it is.

After the thrilling cliffhanger at the end of book two, we rejoin Fletcher and his friends in the ether, where they must undertake a mortally dangerous quest all the while avoiding capture by enemies and facing foes more terrifying than anything they have yet encountered.

Battles, drama and demons, this has everything a brilliant fantasy novel has! There’s a reason it’s a NYT bestselling series.

Movie Night – Lucy Courtenay (11th Jan 2018)

If you love rom-coms you will LOVE this sassy addition to our BKMRK list. This book is brilliant, funny, romantic and perfect for any movie buffs. It’s got everything we want in a book that we can just settle into like a blanket. And it’s perfect for fans of Holly Bourne.

 

 

FEBRUARY

The Taste of Blue Light PB – Lydia Ruffles (8th Feb 2018)

Louise O’Neill said this was The Bell Jar for this generation. And my god, was she right. You’ve no doubt heard a lot about this book (from us posting some very beautiful quote cards during the Hardback campaign) but every good thing you’ve heard is true. This is a story of a girl’s desperation to uncover the truth of what really happened to her after that summer party, of why she cannot remember, of why she dreams in red. It’s a debut. And it’s stunning.

Dark Matter: Deception – Teri Terry (8th Feb 2018)

You know, when you read something from Teri Terry, that it’s going to be good. Book one: Contagion blew our minds. And now the second book in the series is here to do it all over again. If you like dystopian novels with grit and great characters than you need to catch this series.

  

Rock War: Crash Landing PB – Robert Muchamore (8th Feb 2018)

This author needs NO introduction: from the international bestselling author of the Cherub series, Crash Landing (8th Feb 2018) is Robert’s explosive final Rock War book.

Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they’re about to discover what fame and fortune are really about…

Anassa – Josh Martin (8th Feb 2018)

Compelling and absorbing fantasy at its very best. This is a VERY special series.

Ariadnis was the first in the series. And we loved this book because…

A) It features real, grounded characters that are relatable

B) It’s epic and awesome and completely gripping

Anassa is the second in the series and set to be just as igniting! It begs the question, should you fight or should you try and reunite?

Miss Match: The Truth About Destiny – Crystal Cestari (8th Feb 2018)

You are meant to be with this book. No, seriously. The follow-up to the AMAZING Miss Match is incredible and if you haven’t read the first book then we urge you to because it’s just the perfect thing to read when you’re tired of all things too serious and too negative. It’s uplifting and cheeky and brilliant and really funny and Amber is a character you really want to be your friend.

Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate.

The Revolution Handbook – Alice Skinner (8th Feb 2018)

For anyone who’s ever surveyed the world and thought, ‘Ugh, where do I even start?!’ comes The Revolution Handbook, a journal to help you kickstart revolutionary campaigns and log your activism memories.

Full of tongue-in cheek prompts and illustrations, activist-illustrator Alice Skinner encourages you to create your best campaign slogans, troll-stamping tweets and protest signs – this is the essential handbook for anyone who dreams of a better world, and wants to help make it a reality.

Through Alice’s art, you’ll find checklists for going on marches, tips for self-care when you find the world is just getting too depressing, and the confidence you’ll need to stick two fingers up at the system, which we need right now MORE THAN EVER.

Mary’s Monster by Lita Judge (8th Feb 2018)

If you like your romance on the darker side, we’ve got the perfect book for you.

Publishing to mark the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein, Mary’s Monster is the compelling, and beautifully illustrated, story of Mary Shelley – the original rebel girl.

Part biography, part fantasy, this is the story of a remarkable woman and her monster.

 

Midnight Sun – Trish Cook (22nd Feb 2018)

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Bella Thorne and Patrick Schwarzenegger, and perfect for fans of The Fault in our Stars and Everything, Everything, THIS is a book to definitely add to your TBR pile.

The film tie-in edition is coming out at the end of February and we cannot WAIT – cover to follow soon!

MARCH

The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu (8th March 2017)

A striking book about breaking down stereotypes from the author of Zoella Book Club pick, Moxie.

First there was Moxie which sought to take down the patriarchy.

Now, there’s The Truth About Alice, a book about breaking down stereotypes.

The verdict is in: this book should be on the curriculum.

The Astonishing Colour of After by Emily X.R. Pan (22nd March 2018)

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions in this powerful and beautifully written book.

Warning: This book will break you. But it is spectacular.

We also have a John Green quote and he called it ‘a very special book’

ALL OF THE LOVE HEART EMOJI FACES.

The Heist Society Reissues (22nd March 2018)

Aren’t they SO cute?!

 

Just before the publication of the new standalone Ally Carter, Not If I Save You First, come these three gorgeous reissues of Ally Carter’s Heist Society series. And they are fiiiiiine.

If you like bad-ass female characters doing bad things, then you will LOVE this series.

 

Not If I Save You First by Ally Carter (27th March 2018)

Danger. Romance. And a girl outwitting the bad guy. This is Ally Carter at her finest.

After Maddie’s Secret Service dad takes a bullet for the president, he takes Maddie somewhere he thinks they’ll be safe – far away from the White House and the president’s son, Logan. 

But when Logan comes to Alaska, so does the danger. 

If there’s one thing Alaska has taught Maddie, it’s how to survive. And now her best friend’s life’s depends on it …

The List of Real things – Sarah Moore Fitzgerald (29th March 2018)

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize for her novel The Apple Tart of Hope, and it’s not hard to see why – her books are completely beautiful, full of joy and heartbreak.

Her new book, The List of Real Things, follows sisters Gracie and Bee, who have lived with their eccentric uncle since their parents died several years earlier. When little Bee’s incredible imagination begins to spiral out of control, Gracie insists she make a list: things that are real, and things that are not. But is that line really as clear as she thinks…?

The List of Real Things – along with a brand new edition of The Apple Tart of Hope – will be in shops from March 29th.

APRIL

Clean by Juno Dawson (5th April 2018)

A razor-sharp, adrenaline rush of a novel from award-winning author Juno Dawson, Clean is Gossip Girl meets Girl, Interrupted.

In it, socialite Lexi finds herself at rock bottom after a heroin overdose, and shipped off to an exclusive rehab facility. There, she meets a group of unlikely friends who might just help her find herself.

Oh and yes, your eyes do not deceive you: that is a ROSE. GOLD. COVER.

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley (5th April 2018)

Sometimes love is written in the margins … A love story for everyone who loves books (AKA EVERYONE at BKMRK). Warning: you will need tissues. We cried our eyes out!

Jennifer Niven, author of All The Bright Places said that this was ‘one of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I’ve read in a very long time … I didn’t just read the pages, I lived in them.’

If that doesn’t send this book shooting to the top of your tbr pile we don’t know what will!