Select Page

It may not feel like it’s coming up to summer because of the weather we’ve been having, but it will come round sooner than you think!

Because of that, we thought it was only fair to give you a look ahead at some of our brilliant summer reads.


Summoner: The Outcast (3rd May 2018)

The brand new Summoner novel from Taran Matharu is a prequel to Summoner: The Novice (chosen as a World Book Day title of 2018) and it is mind-blowing. The Outcast tells the story of orphaned stable boy Arcturus, the first non-noble summoner to be allowed access to Vocans Acadamy.

Summoner fans: be prepared for more action and characters you love.

New readers: this is your perfect introduction to the series!

We Are Young by Cat Clarke (3rd May 2018)

‘A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate’ JUNO DAWSON

And we are definitely celebrating. Cat Clarke, author of Girlhood – a 2017 Zoella Book Club pick – is back with a riveting, heartbreaking, trailblazing new novel.

It starts with a wedding. And a car crash.

The Colour of the Sun by David Almond (3rd May 2018)

David Almond, author of Skellig and A Song for Ella Grey is back with an outstanding novel full of warmth, light and hope.

David Almond says: ‘I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.’

And we can totally relate because the world really is beautiful (especially when it involves books).


Ventura Saga: The Truth of Different Skies by Kate Ling (3rd May 2018)

What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it’s forever?

A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope and the prequel to The Loneliness of Distant Beings and The Glow of Fallen Stars.

The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater (31st May 2018)

One teenager in a skirt.
One teenager with a lighter.
One moment that changes both their lives forever.

This is a story of recovery, reconciliation, forgiveness and, above all, hope. It’s about the power of being true to yourself, bravery and the good and bad in all of us.

And, remarkably, it’s all true.



Everless by Sara Holland (28th June 2018)

A Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller, perfect for fans of the Red Queen trilogy – now in paperback.

In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything – even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.

‘An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.’ Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval

A Thousand Perfect Notes by CG Drews (7th June 2018)

An emotionally charged story about the power of dreams, and how passion can turn to obsession.

We’ve already had SUCH  a great response to this book on BKMRK (that cover though)! This is an explosive debut for YA readers which tackles the dark topic of domestic abuse in an ultimately hopeful tale.

A Boy Called Ocean by Chris Higgins (14th June 2018)

One boy stranded at sea.

One girl back on land.

One ocean between them.

The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her.

A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

The Love Curse: Arrowheart by Rebecca Sky (14th June 2018)

Ready for the perfect summer read (about girls who kiss the boys and make them cry)?

An addictive romance with a fantasy twist for fans of Holly Smale, Ally Carter and Zoe Sugg. Prepare to fall under the spell of Wattpad star Rebecca Sky, in this compulsive romance.

The Summer of Us by Cecilia Vinesse (14th June 2018)

Five friends.

Ten days.

The most beautiful cities Europe has to offer. And messy, complicated, can-this-really-be-happening love story – or two…

The perfect summer read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.